Thursday, March 31, 2011

Zero Tolerance on Distracted Driving Awareness Month

The entire police departments and California Highway Patrol will unite to join the campaign against distracted driving this whole month of April so cell phone users, be aware.

Local police agencies were ordered to implement “zero tolerance” against those who will break the law and conscientiously text or operate their cell phones while driving their vehicles. Authorities will enforce the minimum ticket cost of $159 to 1st offenders and $279 for succeeding tickets.

For many years, distracted driving has been putting everyone on the road to higher risk and, several times, resulting to fatal accidents across the state of California. It is really a good move for the state to declare April as “Distracted Driving Awareness Month.”

Using hand-held devices create more chances of major crashes that result to serious injuries and deaths. Studies also show that inexperienced drivers below the age of 20 have the greatest number of involvements in distraction-related road accidents.

In 2009 alone, about 5,500 Americans died while approximately half a million sustained injuries on accidents involving distracted drivers according to the Transportation Department’s data.

The state is implementing traffic rules to protect the motorists and pedestrians as well. We just hope that all of us will abide the law, not only to avoid tickets, but also to experience safe travel and keep away from vehicle accidents.

Also, all states in the U.S. must implement same laws and act to completely eradicate the use of hand-held cell phones while driving and make the roadways safer for all.